The other side - Reisverslag uit Georgetown, Guyana van Marieke Timmer - WaarBenJij.nu The other side - Reisverslag uit Georgetown, Guyana van Marieke Timmer - WaarBenJij.nu

The other side

Door: Marieke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marieke

07 Januari 2011 | Guyana, Georgetown

There is a part of Guyana that the average VSO doesn’t know much about. A part that is not safe to enter, not by yourself, not even in a group. Often referred to as the ghetto. I’ve seen it a couple of times from behind a taxi or minibus window. The houses are smaller, worn out. The pavement stops, rubbish everywhere. Not comparable to the neighbourhoods where VSOs are living.
One of my local friends took me to the area where he grew up, the place where I never thought to set foot, the ghetto. Getting out of the car people glanced at me, didn’t expect to see a white girl in their neighbourhood. A surprised face, followed by a smile. His friends showed me their liming spot and passed me a cup of rum and coke. Smiles, laughter. I felt at home. My friend’s brother, rasta’s to the calves - seemed to be a well respected person, approached me. He inquired if I was feeling all right. If I felt comfortable. I nodded with a smile. If I liked spending time with them and if I felt safe. I told him I had an amazing time and he thanked me. I didn’t understand why. He respected and thanked me for treating his brother, himself and the others like anybody else because most white people would be afraid of them and would never come to their neighbourhood. I smiled but I felt kind of sad at the same time. It is a shame that somebody has to thank me for treating them normal. Thank you Wayne for showing me this part of Guyana.
Ronald showed me another part of Guyana that I had not witnessed before. Football – Guyana style. A game in a stadium just like many other games I’ve been to, so I thought. Ronald laughed at me when I looked at the ticket to find my seat number. Apparently one can sit where ever one likes, that means that supporters of both teams are mixed indeed. Unheard of in any other country I’ve ever been to.
We found two seats although we were quite late. All ready for the finals. The game was fun and exciting, only right before the end the final goal was made 3-2. The game however wasn’t what I enjoyed most. It was the crowd. They live the game with heart and soul. Every inch of their being is in the game. It shows in both verbal and physical expressions. Heated discussions between supporters of both teams but in a playful manner. Jumping up and down the seats, dancing, waving arms. Everything that can move moves. Just amazing. I had a wonderful time.

  • 07 Januari 2011 - 16:29

    Marileen:

    Hoiiii

    Leuk weer een berichtje was al een tijdje geleden!!!
    De mensen daar in het binnenland lijken een beetje op indianen of niet??

    Hier gaat alles nog goed :) nog geen bevallingsverhalen haha.

    Kus!!

  • 07 Januari 2011 - 16:58

    Marieke Timmer:

    Haha troela, ze lijken niet op indianen het zijn indianen :P

  • 07 Januari 2011 - 17:12

    Tineke:

    Je maakt wat mee……. maar ik blijf zeggen: ik weet niet of ik het allemaal wel wil weten. Voetbal oké, maar de rest of ben ik nu als al die anderen?
    Pas goed op jezelf en doe geen domme dingen! Wijsheid komt met de jaren.

    Kus,

    Mam.

  • 07 Januari 2011 - 19:45

    Marileen:

    Ow haha dat weet ik toch niet joh

  • 07 Januari 2011 - 20:44

    Rien :

    Lekkere familie discussie op het www.
    Weer een mooi verhaal en leuke foto’s.
    Misschien kan GT ook speelstad worden voor de Dutch Homeless Cup. Heb trouwens gezien dat er een afkickkliniek van het LDH in GT zit.
    Kan je vast tickets regelen voor een een wedstrijd in november, wil ik wel bij zijn.

    kusss

  • 08 Januari 2011 - 11:52

    Barbie:

    Heey Rooie Barbaar!!!

    Ik heb je verhalen ook al veel te lang gemist!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Wat een vreemd iets inderdaad dat mensen bedanken als je normaal tegen ze doet. Herken het een beetje van Brazilie. De verbazing op de gezichten van mensen als je ze vraagt hoe het met ze gaat is erg vreemd. Leuk dat je bij een voetbalwedstrijd bent geweest, hadden ze ook veel trommels enz.???
    MIs je wel hoor. Ben zo benieuwd hoe je leven daar, maar het lijkt je zoals verwacht helemaal te passen. Pas goed op jezelf lievie en kan niet wachten op je volgende avontuur.

    XXX Barbie

  • 08 Januari 2011 - 14:54

    Ida:

    Timmy!

    Leuke foto's zeg! Je maakt weer wat mee... Stik jaloers hoor ben ik... Zullen we ruilen ff ; jij 2 kindjes opvoeden en ik ff daar zitten hahaha
    Hou je taai en ben benieuwd naar je new adventura story!
    Liefs Ida

  • 08 Januari 2011 - 15:40

    Oma Veen:

    Hoi,

    Hoe is het met jou? Nog een gelukkig Nieuwjaar toegewenst en daarbij gezondheid en veel plezier, in je werk.
    Alles gaat goed met mij, ik zorg nu voor een zwerfkater, Moos.
    Ben nieuwsgierig of het een jongetje of een meisje wordt bij Marileen, maar ik wil het nu nog niet weten. Spannend hoor.

    Veel liefs Oma en ik denk aan je.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marieke

Actief sinds 04 Juni 2006
Verslag gelezen: 633
Totaal aantal bezoekers 213673

Voorgaande reizen:

11 Augustus 2010 - 11 Augustus 2012

In the jungle, the mighty jungle

Landen bezocht: