I love... - Reisverslag uit Woweta Village, Guyana van Marieke Timmer - WaarBenJij.nu I love... - Reisverslag uit Woweta Village, Guyana van Marieke Timmer - WaarBenJij.nu

I love...

Door: Marieke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marieke

14 Februari 2011 | Guyana, Woweta Village

… taking a shower in the late afternoon since the water from the tanks is warmed up by the sun.

… riding my motorbike to work in the morning, with the cool breeze and stunning surroundings.

… getting up in the morning and sit in the hammock for a while to admire the sun coming up from behind the mountains.

… greeting everyone, not a single person passes by without saying anything. Even on the motorbike I beep to everyone on the road.

… watching the Wowetta football team training on the field right in front of my house every afternoon.

… making (and eating!) pancakes in the morning.

… hearing reggae music everywhere I go (even in the most remote villages).

… experimenting with cooking, with limited ingredients available and without instructions on the back of the pack.

… travelling by boat, it’s amazing to go through the immense rain forest, over wide rivers, smell the humidity, flowers and trees and spot wildlife in the meantime. Dry season is kicking in, black caiman all over!

… feeling proud of myself when I managed to do something that I never thought I could, like getting the water pump back to work.

… taking over the slow Guyanese pass. And not being stressed out or worried about all sorts of things anymore.

… living the simple live. It’s all not that complicated!

… being amazed every time how quick my laundry dries here.

… having unplanned crazy nights with friends, dinner, rum and hammocks.

… having the feeling that I already know so many people here, that’s what happens in a country with less than 1 million people. And if you don’t know them directly you’ll always know 1 or 2 relatives.

… all the people from home that put a smile on my face with e-mails, pictures, movies, texts, phone calls, packages, cards, messages etc.

… all my friends here that support me and make my time in Guyana worthwhile.

HAPPY VALENTINE!

  • 14 Februari 2011 - 15:43

    Shanna:

    Geweldig om te lezen dat je het zo naar je zin hebt!!! :D!!
    Wordt helemaal jaloers zo lekker relaxed en van alles zien wat hier niet is !! wilde dieren en het regenwoud!! wow!!
    x shan

  • 14 Februari 2011 - 17:04

    Rien:

    HI meissie

    lekker hoor, lijkt mij ook wel wat, alleen die zwarte kaaimannen trekken mij niet zo, alleen in de vorm van een tas of schoenen misschien.

    Doe maar rustig aan!! Dan breekt het lijntje van je hangmat niet.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marieke

Actief sinds 04 Juni 2006
Verslag gelezen: 420
Totaal aantal bezoekers 213669

Voorgaande reizen:

11 Augustus 2010 - 11 Augustus 2012

In the jungle, the mighty jungle

Landen bezocht: